Driving While Intoxicated
New Jersey law imposes serious penalties if you are caught and convicted of drunk driving. This is especially true if you have more than one DUI on your record. A DUI conviction can also lead to a host of non-legal consequences related to employment opportunities and your personal life. If you have been charged with drunk driving, retain an experienced New Jersey DUI attorney from the Grimes Law Firm to help you build a strong defense.What Constitutes Drunk Driving?
It is common for police officers in New Jersey to test someone suspected of drunk driving for his or her blood alcohol concentration (BAC) levels with a Breathalyzer test. In general, you are considered to be driving under the influence if you have a BAC of .08% or greater. If your BAC is more than .08%, but below .10%, and you have no prior convictions, you may lose your driver's license for 3 months and face a prison term of 30 days. In addition, the court is likely to impose a fine, require you to attend drunk driving classes, and assess other monetary penalties and surcharges over a period of years in the range of $250 to $3,905.
If you are caught driving while your license is suspended for a DUI, you may have to serve a prison term of up to 90 days, lose your license for up to an additional 2 years, and face $2,000 in fines and surcharges. Failure to pay DUI surcharges can lead to an indefinite license suspension or an action filed against you by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.
The potential penalties are a bit harsher if you are caught driving with a BAC of .10% or more. With a BAC of between .10% and .15%, you may lose your license for up to a year, in addition to fines, surcharges, class time, and 30 days of prison time. With a BAC of .15% or more, you face all of these penalties, plus you will have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) for up to a year in your car. An IID requires a driver to take a Breathalyzer test before allowing him or her start the car.
Prior convictions increase these penalties significantly. A third DUI within 10 years of a second offense, for example, can lead to a 10-year license suspension plus 180 days in jail. The severity of these penalties is one reason why it is imperative to consult an experienced DUI attorney the first time you are accused of a DUI. It can be embarrassing to deal with a DUI, and you may want to just accept your punishment to avoid having to deal with the hassle of contesting the charges. But a record of DUIs can lead to such steep penalties down the road that it is in your best interest to retain an attorney to build an aggressive defense on your behalf from the start.Experienced Advocate for New Jersey DUI Defendants
If you are accused of driving under the influence, retain a knowledgeable New Jersey DUI lawyer as soon as possible. At the Grimes Law Firm, we has 25 years of experience helping those that have been accused of drunk driving in Neshanic Station, Somerset County, and the rest of the tri-state area. To schedule a free consultation, contact us at (908) 371-1066 or via our online form.